Apps for Accidents

App LoveThough technically I can’t say  the app made by my insurance company is one I’ve used and loved, after last week I definitely now have it installed. On my way home last Thursday (ie post-snowstorm from Wednesdy), I was hit dead-center on my driver’s side by someone who had a stop sign but was unable to stop because his tires skidded on the snow. Since I’d only ever been in one accident before and the other driver had been in exactly none himself, neither of us was particularly organized about the process. Did I mention it was also below 11 degrees out while we were trying to exchange information? Definitely not motivating conditions to stay out in the cold.

After calling my mom and learning that apparently, you’re supposed to call the police to come when someone hits you (duh Christina…) I headed to the local PD. There, I realized with disappointment that my frazzled self had forgotten to capture the other car’s license plate (rookie mistake) and the contact information I’d asked the other driver to write down was limited to only his name and address. Not helpful. In another stroke of bad luck, his phone had died while we were sorting things out and with it, apparently, went all his insurance information. A bit sketchy, right? In case you were wondering, what I had to show was really not enough to do anything productive. Luckily, the Newport Police Department was very helpful, and my Google sleuthing abilities allowed me to contact the other driver the following day.

USAAYou know what might have helped in this situation though? The app from my insurance company. I would have been able to begin reporting the claim on the spot, it would have prompted me to enter all the necessary information, and it even would have let me upload pictures from the scene. Hindsight is 20/20, and of course I’m wishing that I’d thought of it earlier, but in the future I’m now prepared with the trusty USAA app. I hope no one reading ever is forced to use an insurance app either, but will make the suggestion that in the interest of expecting the unexpected, you might want to download whatever your provider can offer! Safe driving!

Go for it...

