Cab Crisis

Unfortunately, I can cite several occasions where I’ve lost personal items to the world of taxis. The list of things doomed to be gone forever includes: an iPhone, a well-loved pair of earrings, money, etc. I can’t decide which is worse: knowing immediately after exiting the vehicle that you’ve just lost something forever or that sinking feeling later on when you wonder where an item has gone only to discover that you must have left it in a cab. I’d say it ranks pretty high on the scale of discoveries that make you want to smack yourself in the head and groan “Why?” repeatedly.

Style Me Pretty Cabimage via Style Me Pretty

I bring this all up, of course, because somehow last weekend I managed to do the seemingly impossible – I lost a pair of shoes in an Uber. In the whirl of luggage being moved from my car to my boyfriend’s apartment on Friday night, my beloved Mia Astroo flats were left behind. Now, to be fair, another one of the many reasons I like Uber is because they provide you with a way to contact the driver of every Uber ride you have. Such a safety net would seem like the exact way to prevent lost items. Sadly, my kind driver had not found my shoes. Since I don’t think used shoes would sell for very much, the way a lost electronic device might, I’m also at a bit of a loss as to where the shoes might have gone. They didn’t just disappear. Yet another one of life’s great mysteries that will remain unsolved, I suppose.

MIA FlatsI realize that in comparison to leaving my phone in the cab or perhaps losing something with significant sentimental value, the loss of a pair of replaceable flats isn’t the biggest deal. My boyfriend was very quick to try to put that in perspective (payback I suspect was long overdue given all the “glass half full” anecdotes I’m constantly spouting). It’s more the principal of the thing though, you know? It’s annoying to have to buy things twice – especially when you got them on sale the first time. I’m not sure what the solution is either beyond simply paying more attention or moving to Tokyo (where they have alarms in cabs to prevent lost belongings). Obviously, I already reordered the same shoes which should arrive on Friday, thanks to Amazon. But what about item that can’t be re-bought? Have you ever lost something you loved in a cab? What did you do about it?

2 thoughts on “Cab Crisis

Go for it...

