Sweater Weather Must-Have

At the risk of sounding “snooty,” as my boyfriend so kindly calls me from time to time, isn’t the only downside to a cashmere sweater the fact that you will inevitably have to wash it? Maybe it’s a me-thing, but I cannot stand the way clothes smell when they come back from the dry-cleaner…that nasty petroleum scent just doesn’t do it for me. Also, because I tend to perspire pretty aggressively, (full-disclosure) especially in sweaters (get it?), my clothes tend to require some extra oomph when being laundered unless I want them to have those unfortunate stains under the arms. (Let’s be honest, no one wants those.)

The LaundressSolution: The Laundress New York Cashmere Wash (available via J.Crew). Realistically, I probably should have talked about this yesterday when it was available for 30% off, but even at full price this bottle is worth the money and then some. Think about how much cashmere costs. Then think about how much dry cleaning costs. Now look at the price of this bottle in comparison. That’s a bargain my friends.

I can tell you firsthand that since acquiring this, I will now always wash cashmere (or any other fine, fluffy knit) on my own. You can either throw some of this in cold water and do a sweater by hand, or (for the brave) you can actually wash your cashmere with this in a normal washing machine. Seriously. If you choose the latter option, I highly recommend the most delicate cycle possible and suggest that you turn the cashmere inside out and then put it in a mesh bag or a pillow case with a knot tied to keep it closed. Your sweaters can then be air dried, but not wrung out! The result of either method will be sweat-free, fluffy sweaters that smell faintly of lavender. I can attest to the fact that either way works – if you do it right and stick with cold water and gentle cycles, only the smallest amount of tightening will occur. The natural botanical oils in the formula also ward against pesky moths. Bonus!

Go for it...

